‘AGENT HAMILTON’ TO HAVE WORLD PREMIERE AT MIPCOM 2019
BETA FILM’S BRAND-NEW SPY THRILLER FROM THE MAKERS OF ‘MIDNIGHT SUN’

Paris, 26 August 2019“Agent Hamilton”, a spy thriller series based on one of Scandinavia’s hottest literary properties, is set have its World Premiere TV Screening at MIPCOM.
 
The world’s entertainment content market, MIPCOM takes place in Cannes, France, from 14-17 October 2019. The World Premiere TV Screening of “Agent Hamilton” is scheduled for Sunday 13 October 2019 at 6:30pm in the Palais des Festivals’ Grand Auditorium, followed by a Q&A with cast and crew.
 
“Agent Hamilton” is based on the bestselling “Hamilton” novels by Jan Guillou, and stars top-notch international cast including Jakob Oftebro (“Below the Surface”, “Kon-Tiki”), the “Wallander” stars Krister Henriksson and Nina Zanjani, and US actress Rowena King (“Shut Eye”, “The Bucket List”).
 
Erik Leijonborg (“The Last Kingdom”) is lead and conceptual director, supported by Lisa Farzaneh and Per Hanefjord. Head writer is Petter Rosenlund (NRK’s hit WW2 thriller “The Saboteurs”), working in conjunction with a writers’ room.
 
With 10 one-hour episodes, the series is produced by Beta Film subsidiary Dramacorp-Pampas Studios and was commissioned by Bonnier Broadcasting along with TV channel TV4 and Nordic streaming service C More. Co-producers are Beta Film and German broadcaster ZDF, in association with ZDF Enterprises.
 
Dramacorp’s executive producer Patrick Nebout’s previous credits include the Canal+ hit “Midnight Sun”. He is currently co-developing “Cannes Confidential”, an international procedural crime drama set in the Riviera resort. The producers of “Agent Hamilton” are Martina Stöhr (“Stockholm Requiem”) and Petra Jönsson (“Border”).
 
Swedish agent Carl Hamilton is caught up in the investigation of a terrorist attack committed by extremists. At the same time, key points in Sweden are hit by a series of cyber-attacks which require very sophisticated skills. Despite having officially left the Swedish intelligence service, Hamilton is back to defend his country and soon finds himself in the middle of a life-threatening mission against an invisible enemy with traces leading to Russian, Swedish and US intelligence forces. Since the contemporary espionage thriller is set in Sweden, Germany, Russia and the Middle East, the series is shot in various local languages and held together by a central English-language narrative.
 
“This is not just another Scandinavian Nordic noir series. High-concept and character-driven, ‘Agent Hamilton’ represents the first true international spy thriller series to come out of Scandinavia, with a strong and distinctive voice and visual identity, in the vein of ‘Three Days of the Condor’ or ‘All the President’s Men’. We are looking forward to seeing ‘Agent Hamilton’ starting its international career in Cannes,” said Dramacorp’s Patrick Nebout.
 
Head of Production Ulf Synnerholm (C More and TV4) said: “C More and TV4 are very glad to commission this intense spy thriller based on one of the hottest literary properties in Scandinavia. We are doing this together with an impressive cast and crew, and are very proud to be presenting this piece in Cannes.”
 
“We are delighted to be hosting the World Premiere TV Screening of ‘Agent Hamilton’, which promises to be the latest in a long line of hit Scandinavian thriller series, this time extending its reach to other parts of the world. As a global showcase platform, MIPCOM offers the opportunity to discover the hottest fresh content, with the World Premiere TV Screenings representing a special selection of exceptional series screened for the first time, and open to all participants and press,” said Laurine Garaude, Director of Television at Reed MIDEM, which organises MIPCOM.
 
 
About Reed MIDEMFounded in 1963, Reed MIDEM is an organiser of professional, international markets that are essential business platforms for key players in the sectors concerned. These sectors are MIPTV, MIPDOC, MIPCOM, MIPJUNIOR in Cannes, MIP China in Hangzhou and MIP Cancun in Mexico for the television and digital content industries; MIDEM in Cannes for music professionals; Esports BAR in Cannes and in Miami for the esports business; MIPIM in Cannes, MIPIM UK in London, MIPIM Asia Summit in Hong Kong and MIPIM PropTech Summit in New York for the real estate industry; MAPIC in Cannes, MAPIC Russia in Moscow, MAPIC Italy in Milan, MAPIC China Summit in Shanghai and IRF brought by MAPIC in Mumbai for the retail real estate sector.
 
About Reed Exhibitions – Reed Exhibitions is a leading global events organiser, with more than 500 events in 30 countries. In 2018, Reed Exhibitions brought together more than 7m event participants from around the world generating billions of dollars in business. Today Reed Exhibitions’ events are held throughout the Americas, Europe, the Middle East, Asia Pacific and Africa and organised by 38 fully staffed offices. Reed Exhibitions serves 43 industry sectors with trade and consumer events. It is part of RELX Group, a global provider of information and analytics for professional and business customers across industries. www.reedexpo.com
 
About Bonnier Broadcasting – Bonnier Broadcasting is one of Scandinavia’s leading broadcasters, with TV channels including TV4, C More and MTV Finland, holding over one third of Swedish viewership. In a time when global television viewership is increasingly fragmented, Bonnier Broadcasting is bucking the trend by unifying viewers. For over 20 years, TV4 has held Sweden’s largest viewership in all age groups between 15 and 64. TV4 continues to create water cooler entertainment; while C More is Sweden’s fastest growing streaming service, providing binge-worthy entertainment and high profile content and TV4 Play is Sweden’s leading iPlayer.

BETA FILM PRESS CONTACT:
Dorothee Stoewahse, Head of Communication and Press: + 49 89 67 34 69 15 > Dorothee.Stoewahse@betafilm.com
 
TV4 CONTACT:
Elias Giertz, Press and PR Manager: +46 8 459 44 32, elias.giertz@bonnierbroadcasting.com